Welcome to GIN - the primary information source about islands worldwide
With support from



Welcome to the GIN regional links directory.

The regional directory is categorised under nine major geographic regions. Each region contains a list of websites specifically relating to the chosen region.

All websites listed here have been individually chosen based on their quality of content and appropriateness to the specific region they represent. All links contained within this directory are regularly checked to ensure they are currently available and do not lead to broken or missing links. If you do happen to come across a broken link please let us know - email our webmaster describing the offending link and we promise to attend to it at our earliest opportunity.


The world's coldest and most inaccessible region consists of an ice-covered continent, Antarctica, centred on the South Pole and surrounding this, the vast Southern Ocean, which is largely covered by floating pack ice. The Antarctic is much colder than the Arctic and its only inhabitants are visiting scientists. Various nations claim different parts of the Antarctic mainland. In 1959, twelve nations signed the Antarctic Treaty and agreed that Antarctica should be used for peaceful purposes only.


The Arctic is an ocean more or less surrounded by land - just the opposite of the Antarctic, which is a huge land mass surrounded by water. The Arctic region generally refers to a rather large land area round the North Pole but the ocean is nearly five times as large as the Mediterranean and is covered with drifting ice which is sometimes 30m thick. Between Greenland and the Canadian mainland is Baffin Island, together with many smaller islands.


An inland sea of northern Europe, the Baltic is nearly 1,600km in length. It lies between Sweden on the west, Finland and the former USSR on the east, and Poland and Germany on the south. It has three main gulfs - the Gulf of Bothnia, the Gulf of Finland and the Gulf of Riga. Navigation in the Baltic has never been easy. The Danish channels and many of the harbours are too shallow for larger ships and wide areas are regularly frozen over for two months of the winter.


The Caribbean Sea is bounded by the West Indies, the east coast of Central America and the north coast of South America. It is nearly 2,400km long and from 650 to 1,100km wide. The many islands surrounding the Caribbean are really the peaks of mountains submerged beneath the sea. After the completion of the Panama Canal in 1914, this sea became one of the busiest waterways in the world, lying on the main route between the Atlantic and Pacific oceans.


This is the third largest ocean in the world - after the Pacific and Atlantic oceans - and covers an area of 73,555,715sq km. The Indian Ocean is bordered by Africa on the west, India on the north and Australia on the east, but to the south there is open sea as far as the Antarctic. The southern half of the Indian Ocean has no large islands except Madagascar. Those in the northern half include Sri Lanka and Socotra besides many smaller ones.


  CPMR Intermediterranean Commission 
  Euro-Mediterranean Forum of Economic Research Institutes (FEMISE Network) 
  Euro-Mediterranean Information System on the know-how in the Water Sector 
  Euro-Mediterranean Study Commission 
  Euro-Mediterranean Think Tank (IPEMED) 
  EuroMed Transport Project 
  European Centre for Nature Conservation 
  European Coastal & Marine Union 
  European Environment Agency 
  European Environmental Bureau 
  European Federation of Regional Energy & Environment Agencies 
  European LEADER Association for Rural Development 
  European Partners for the Environment 
  European Travel Commission 
  European Union On-Line 
  Friends of the Earth Europe 
  Global Mediterranean Action Network 
  Global Water Partnership - Mediterranean 
  Hellenic Centre for Marine Research 
  Hellenic National Oceanographic Data Centre 
  Institute for European Environmental Policy 
  Institute of the Mediterranean 
  International Association for Mediterranean Forests 
  International Centre for Advanced Mediterranean Agronomic Studies 
  IUCN Centre for Mediterranean Cooperation 
  Maritime Regions Cooperation for the Mediterranean 
  Marseille Center for Mediterranean Integration 
  Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Chania, Crete 
  Mediterranean Association to Save the Sea Turtles 
  Mediterranean Centre of Environment 
  Mediterranean Coastal Foundation 
  Mediterranean Data Archaeology and Rescue [MEDAR/MEDATLAS II] 
  Mediterranean Dolphin Biology & Conservation 
  Mediterranean Education Initiative for Environment & Sustainability 
  Mediterranean Experience of Ecotourism Network 
  Mediterranean Forest Association 
  Mediterranean Hydrological Cycle Observing System 
  Mediterranean Information Office for Environment, Culture & Sustainable Development 
  Mediterranean Institute for Nature and Anthropos 
  Mediterranean Marine Bird Association [MEDMARAVIS] 
  Mediterranean Models Evaluation Experiment (MEDMEX) 
  Mediterranean NGO Network for Ecology & Sustainable Development 
  Mediterranean Oceanic Data Base 
  Mediterranean Oil Industry Group 
  Mediterranean Platform of Artisanal Fishers 
  Mediterranean Regional Marine Pollution Emergency Response Centre 
  Mediterranean Regional Office of the European Forest Institute 
  Mediterranean Science Commission 
  Mediterranean Scientific Association of Environmental Protection 
  Mediterranean Small Islands Initiative (PIM) 
  Mediterranean Wetlands Initiative 
  Network of MPA Managers in the Mediterranean 
  Observatoire Mediterraneen de l’Energie (OME) 
  Observatory on Tourism for Islands Economy 
  Secretariat of the Union of the Mediterranean 
  Tethys Research Institute 
  The Blue Plan: Environment and Development in the Mediterranean Region 
  The MedPartnership 
  UNEP Mediterranean Action Plan 
  UNEP Mediterranean Information and Communication Regional Activity Centre 
  UNEP Priority Actions Programme Regional Activity Centre 
  UNEP Specially Protected Areas Regional Activity Centre 


The northern half of the world's second largest ocean is rich in islands, varied coastline and tributary seas. On the west are the Caribbean, the Gulf of Mexico, the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Hudson Bay and Baffin Bay. To the east are the Mediterranean, the Black Sea, the North Sea and the Baltic Sea. As well as purely oceanic islands there are those which rise from the Mid-Atlantic Ridge, including the Azores. Other islands such as The Canaries and Madeira rise from Africa's continental margins.


The Pacific is the largest and deepest of all the oceans with an area of 165 million square kilometres, an area greater than that of all the world's lands put together. At its greatest width the Pacific measures 17,220km. It extends from the Bering Straits of the Arctic Circle, to Cape Adare, Antarctica, a distance of 15,450km. There are very few islands in the eastern Pacific. Its northern and western borders are fringed with chains of islands including The Aleutians, The Kurils and the Ryukus. The Inner Pacific islands are divided into three main groups - Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia.


Southeast Asia is the name for the peninsular area of the Asian continent that lies between India and China, and stretches south along a chain of islands towards Australia. The countries of mainland Southeast Asia are Malaysia, Burma, Vietnam, Laos, Kampuchea, Thailand and Singapore. Further south lies insular (island) Southeast Asia. This is made up of thousands of islands containing the countries of the Philippines, Brunei, Indonesia and East Timor.